Register of Deeds
Effective March 1, 2021. The Anson County Register of Deeds Office will be restricting in person traffic until further notice. Click on the link below for an Important Notice Regarding COVID-19 and for further instructions. Only 3 people will be allowed in our office at one time.
Please call 704-994-3208 or 704-994-3209 with any questions.
Important Notice Regarding COVID-19 (Coronavirus)
The Register of Deeds office is a county governmental agency. Our mission, as mandated by the North Carolina Legislature, is to receive, index, record and maintain probably the most valuable records a citizen will ever need.
The services we offer to the professional community and the general public include the recording of various legal documents such as Deeds, Deeds of Trust and Plat and the filing of financial statements and personal property records under the Uniform Commercial Code.
New Property Notification Site
Register of Deeds Remote Access Site
You can access the Register of Deeds Remote Access website by using the link below. This site used to restrict access to deeds and other documents that transferred ownership in real property. Anson County ROD Remote Access Website.
You can order birth, death and marriage certificates online. Anson Register of Deeds is concerned about your identity. To protect our community, the online system will perform an identification verification based on the information provided on the online application. You will be asked to answer personal knowledge questions so that we can be assured that we are sending vital records to the appropriate location.
A marriage license may be obtained from any county in the state. A marriage license issued in the State of North Carolina is valid only for weddings taking place in North Carolina. The cost of a marriage license is $60 cash. We cannot process a marriage license request after 4 p.m.
Marriage License Worksheet
This office has a marriage license worksheet (PDF) that we prefer you pick up, fill in and return a few days before you want to get your license. Anyone can pick up this worksheet for you, or we can mail a copy to you or one can be downloaded. If you are not able to obtain, fill in and return the worksheet before needing to pick up the license, the worksheet can be completed in the office but be prepared for a short wait. There is a marriage license kiosk available in the Register of Deeds Office.
What to Bring
Both parties must come into the office to sign the marriage license. Both must bring with them a valid picture Identification Card (ID), such as a drivers license, and their social security card. If you do not have a social security card, please call this office to see what other information is acceptable. If either or both parties have been married previously, proof of how previous marriage ended must be provided:
- Annulment paper
- Death certificate
- Divorce order
For more information call our Vital Records desk at 704-994-3210.
By law, anyone can obtain a photo copy of any vital record. A photo copy cost $0.25 per page. Only certain family members can obtain a certified copy of a birth, marriage or death certificate. You can obtain a certified record for the following people besides yourself:
- Your children
- Your grandchildren
- Your grandparents
- Your parents
- Your siblings
- Your spouse
A request for a vital record may be made in person, by mail or downloaded. If making the request in person, you must be able to produce a valid driver’s license or picture ID of yourself. A certified copy of a birth, marriage or death certificate cost $10 cash.
We only have vital records for people who were born or died in Anson County or whose marriage license was issued in Anson County. Our birth and death records start in 1914 and our marriage records go back to 1870.
For more information, call our Vital Records desk at 704-994-3210.
Delinquent Property Taxes
On January 05, 2009 the Anson County Board of Commissioners passed a resolution requiring that all delinquent real property taxes must be paid on the parcel being recorded in the Register of Deeds Office. The tax certification is on the real estate conveyance form (DOC) which must be completed and accompany all deeds, except timber deeds, recorded in this office.
Effective immediately, any deed presented to my office for recording MUST include a completed Real Estate Conveyance Form. The form must be signed off by the Tax Collector and the Tax Assessor. We will no longer take the form to be signed off for you.