Board of Commissioners

Regular meetings of the Anson County Board of Commissioners are held on the first Tuesday of every month. Regular meetings are held in the Board Room, Suite 209, 2nd floor of the Anson County Government Center beginning at 6 p.m. Subsequent meetings will be scheduled as needed. Please check the Public Calendar for information such as rescheduled meetings and recessed meetings.

To schedule an appearance at a Board Meeting, please contact the Clerk to the Board at 704-994-3201. Your request must be submitted at least 1 week prior to the meeting to allow you to appear on the agenda.

101 S. Greene St.
Wadesboro NC 28170

District 1: Bobby Sikes
District 2: Vancine Sturdivant
District 3: Ross Streater - Vice Chair
District 4: Dr. Jim Sims
District 5: Anna Baucom - Chairman
District 6: Jarvis Woodburn
District 7: Harold C. Smith

North Carolina County Commissioners (NCACC) website

Clerk to the Board: Denise Cannon

Phone: 704-994-3201

Public Addresses

There shall be a time set aside at each regular meeting of the Board for public comment. This total time shall not exceed 30 minutes.

Each citizen or group who wishes to speak during this time must sign up on a sign up sheet, giving their name, the organization they present (if any), address and the subject matter they wish to discuss prior to the start of the meeting. Only the person requesting the presentation may speak, unless otherwise permitted by the Chairman.

The Chairman may recognize any citizen to speak to the Board during the course of any meeting if deemed appropriate by the Chairman. A majority vote by the Board may overrule the Chairman if a vote is requested.

Each citizen shall be allowed three (3) minutes for their presentation unless the Board, by consensus, grants a greater amount of time. A speaker representing a group of individuals may be allowed five (5) minutes for their presentation. Each speaker, during the Public Comment period, shall be limited to one appearance at each regular meeting of the Board.

All citizens are expected to follow proper decorum and shall not use profanity nor defamatory speech. The public is expected to remain seated except when leaving the room, or unless specifically requested by the Chairman of the Board to approach the podium. Only presenters listed on the agenda, or recognized by the Chairman, will be called to the podium to address the Board.

Commissioners are expected not to comment on matters brought to the Board during this time, but to delay action or comment until staff has had an opportunity to research the subject matter and to report necessary and relevant information to all members of the Board.