The Register of Deeds office is a county governmental agency. Our mission, as mandated by the North Carolina Legislature, is to receive, index, record and maintain probably the most valuable records a citizen will ever need.
The services we offer to the professional community and the general public include the recording of various legal documents such as Deeds, Deeds of Trust and Plat and the filing of financial statements and personal property records under the Uniform Commercial Code.
You can order birth, death and marriage certificates online by clicking HERE. Anson Register of Deeds is concerned about your identity. To protect our community, the online system will perform an ID verification based on the information provided on the online application. You will be asked to answer personal knowledge questions so that we can be assured that we are sending vital records to the appropriate location.
On January 05, 2009 the Anson County Board of Commissioners passed a resolution requiring that all delinquent real property taxes must be paid on the parcel being recorded in the Register of Deeds Office. The tax certification is on the real estate conveyance form which must be completed and accompany all deeds, except timber deeds, recorded in this office. The Anson County Real Estate form is located below.
A marriage license may be obtained from any county in the state. A marriage license issued in the State of North Carolina is valid only for weddings taking place in North Carolina.
This office has a marriage license worksheet that we prefer you pick up, fill in and return a few days before you want to get your license. Anyone can pick up this worksheet for you, or we can mail a copy to you or one can be downloaded. If you a not able to obtain, fill in and return the worksheet before needing to pick up the license, be prepared to wait at least an hour.
Both the bride and groom must come in to the office to sign the marriage license.
Both must bring with them a valid picture ID, such as a drivers license, and their social security card. If you do not have a social security card, please call this office to see what other information is acceptable. If either bride or groom has been married previously, proof of how previous marriage ended must be provided ie: Divorce order, annulment paper or death certificate.
If either party is under the age of 18, call this office to see what is required.
The cost of a marriage license is $60.00
We cannot process a marriage license request after 4:00 pm.
For more information call our Vital Records desk at 704-994-3210.
By law, anyone can obtain a photo copy of any vital record. A photo copy cost $.25 per page. Only certain family members can obtain a certified copy of a birth, marriage or death certificate. You can obtain a certified record for yourself, your spouse, your parents, your children, your siblings, your grandparents or your grandchildren. A request for a vital record may be made in person, by mail or downloaded.
If making the request in person, you must be able to produce a valid driver's license or picture ID of yourself. A certified copy of a birth, marriage or death certificate cost $10.00.
We also have laminated, wallet size copies of birth certificates that may be obtained for $12.00. We only have vital records for people who were born or died in Anson County or whose marriage license was issued in Anson County. Our birth and death records start in 1914.
Our marriage records go back to 1870.
For more information, call our Vital Records desk at 704-994-3210.