Must be done in January
WHEN TO LIST: Listing of taxes will begin on January 1 of each year and the deadline for listing is January 31 of each year. The U.S. Postal Service must postmark completed forms no later than January 31. The office will be closed on Martin Luther King, Jr. birthday.
A 10% Penalty is applied for listings after January 31. For those discovered as unlisted or under listed in prior years they will find penalties and interest added to their bill.
Failure to list property taxes is punishable by fine and/or imprisonment.
All property owned as January 1 must be listed and any leased property identified.
WHERE TO LIST: Listing may be done through the mail or at the Anson County Assessor’s Office, 101 South Greene Street, Suite 109, Wadesboro NC. Office hours are weekdays from 8:30 AM to 5:00 PM.
REAL ESTATE LISTING: Anson County is on a permanent real estate listing system and owners of real estate need not file an abstract in January of each year. However, if you have made any improvements or new construction that has not been previously listed, you are REQUIRED BY LAW to file a listing. If you have demolished or removed any improvements, currently receive the elderly/disabled exemption and no longer qualify, or currently receive the Farm Use Assessment and no longer qualify you are REQUIRED BY LAW to file a listing.
PROPERTY TAX RELIEF FOR ELDERLY AND PERMANENTLY DISABLED PERSONS: North Carolina excludes from property taxes the greater of twenty five thousand dollars ($25,000) or fifty percent (50%) of the appraised value of a permanent residence owned and occupied by a qualifying owner. A qualifying owner is an owner who meets all the following requirements as of January 1 preceding the taxable year for which the benefit is claimed:
Is at least 65 years of age or totally and permanently disabled
Has an income for the preceding calendar year of not more than allowed by the State
Is a North Carolina resident
PERSONAL PROPERTY LISTING: List all unlicensed (un-tagged) automobiles, trucks, trailers, campers, motorcycles, all boats and motors, jet skis, personal watercraft, mobile homes, aircraft (including hot air balloons, gliders and ultra-lights), and furnishings in a rental property.
BUSINESS PERSONAL PROPERTY LISTING: If you owned a business in Anson County on January 1, you are required to file a listing. All equipment used in producing income must be listed. If you did not receive a listing form please contact the Assessors Office at 704-994-3290. If your business was sold, had a name change or ended please notify us in writing.
NOTE: Owners of tagged motor vehicles will receive a bill about three months after they renew their registration and the bill becomes due on the first day of the fourth month after registration.
Appeals on vehicle values must be made before 30 days or the value will not be adjusted.
Multi-year tag owners are still responsible for their yearly taxes.
FOR QUESTIONS CONCERNING TAX LISTING OR FOR ADDITIONAL INFORMATION SEE ANSON COUNTY ASSESSOR’S OFFICE OR PHONE 704- 994-3290 or http://www.co.anson.nc.us
Please list property by January 31, of each year