- Register of Deeds
Register of Deeds
Click for Online Deeds on Anson NC ROD Website
Office Holiday Closings: 2023 County Holiday Schedule
The services we offer to the professional community and the general public include the recording of various legal documents such as Deeds, Deeds of Trust and Plats and the filing of financial statements and personal property records under the Uniform Commercial Code. We also record and issue vital records, such as birth, death and marriage certificates as well as issuing marriage licenses and notary oaths.
We also offer e-recording services for land records (except plats) to those who have completed a Memorandum of Understanding Agreement (MOU) with our e-recording vendors.
A marriage license may be obtained from any county in the state. A marriage license issued in the State of North Carolina is valid only for weddings taking place in North Carolina. The cost of a marriage license is $60 cash. We cannot process a marriage license request after 4 p.m.
New: Click here to use our “New Online Marriage Application”
Marriage License Worksheet
This office has a marriage license worksheet (PDF) that we prefer you fill out and return a few days before you want to get your license. Anyone can pick up this worksheet for you, or we can email you a copy or one can be downloaded from the above link. There is also a marriage license kiosk available in the Register of Deeds Office for your convenience.
What to Bring
Both parties must come into the office to sign the marriage license. Both must bring with them a valid picture Identification Card (ID), such as a drivers license, and their social security card. If you do not have a social security card, please call this office to see what other information is acceptable. If either or both parties have been married previously, proof of how the previous marriage ended must be provided:
- Annulment paper; Death certificate; Divorce order
Click here Marriage License Requirements to see a more detailed description of what is needed in order to obtain a marriage license.
Greg EudyRegister of DeedsPhone: 704-994-3208
Sandi SmithDeputy Register of DeedsPhone: 704-994-3209
Olivia TuckerDeputy Register of DeedsPhone: 704-994-3210
By law, anyone can obtain a photo copy of any vital record. A photo copy cost $0.25 per page. Only certain family members can obtain a certified copy of a birth, marriage or death certificate. You can obtain a certified record for the following people besides yourself:
- Your children; Your grandchildren; Your grandparents; Your parents; Your siblings; Your spouse
A request for a vital record may be made in person, by mail or online. If making the request in person, you must be able to produce a valid driver’s license or picture ID of yourself. A certified copy of a birth, marriage or death certificate cost $10 cash.
You can order birth, death and marriage certificates online
We only have vital records in our office for people who were born or died in Anson County or whose marriage license was issued in Anson County. Our birth and death records start in October 1913 and our marriage records go back to 1870.
New: We now have access to Certified Death Certificates Only for individuals who have died in other counties in North Carolina beginning August 1, 2020 to current. Please Contact our Office for more details at 704-994-3208.
Anson County Register of Deeds is concerned about your identity. To protect our community, the online system will perform an identification verification based on the information provided on the online application. You will be asked to answer personal knowledge questions so that we can be assured that we are sending vital records to the appropriate location.
New: Click here to register your name for our new Property Notification site. You can register to be notified by e-mail if a document with the requested name is filed in our office. This site will provide instructions and additional details. This service is free.
Delinquent Property Taxes
On January 05, 2009 the Anson County Board of Commissioners passed a resolution requiring that all delinquent real property taxes must be paid on the parcel being recorded in the Register of Deeds Office. The tax certification is on the real estate conveyance form (DOC) which must be completed, signed and accompany all deeds, except timber deeds, recorded in this office.
NOTE: Deeds that are being filed electronically must include the following statement on the first page: This instrument prepared by: ________________, a licensed North Carolina attorney. Delinquent taxes, if any, to be paid by the closing attorney to the county tax collector upon disbursement of closing proceeds.
For more information, call our Office at 704-994-3208; 704-994-3209; 704-994-3210